A Leadership Legacy: Trials and Triumphs

As we celebrate Veteran’s day,  Bobcats understand the trials and triumphs that come with being apart of something greater than yourselves. Being a leader is no different. There will always be something to overcome, but it’s not about the parts that are the most difficult. What’s important is how you handle the situation and continue to lead with confidence. Senior Rachael Horton is no stranger to what it’s like to get involved, or to overcome the obstacles that could have stopped her from achieving her goals:

Being a student leader has made me aware of my capabilities while also boosting my confidence. I have been involved with different organizations throughout my three years at Texas State. These organizations have been a great source of mentorship, networking skills and helping me to build relationships that will last beyond college.

The first organization I became involved in was Residence Hall Association (RHA). My freshman and sophomore year I was a part of the Sterry Hall and the Jackson Hall council. RHA helped me to learn more about leadership, teamwork, and how to effectively handle conflict.

I am now a senior member of University Ambassadors.UA is an organization that hosts Bobcat Days, gives tours, and even hometown recruitment opportunities. Being an ambassador has helped me improve my public speaking skills, presence, and the amount of pride I have in my university.

In April I was elected to represent the College of Applied Arts as a senator for the Associated Student Government. Being in ASG has helped me with professionalism and networking but also gives me the opportunity to give a voice to the student I represent and promote change on our campus.

The organization that I have been the most active in is the Student Association for Campus Activities (SACA). I was a member my freshman and sophomore year and Films Coordinator my junior year. In my senior year at Texas State I am the Pride & Traditions Coordinator for SACA which means I am the director of Homecoming and Riverfest. SACA has given me opportunities for amazing experiences like walking on the football field at halftime, being backstage at the talent show, eating breakfast at President Trauth’s house and teaching the Ying Yang Twins how to “Show ‘em state”.

SACA also gave me the privilege of meeting and being mentored by Earl Moseley. Earl was a respected figure in student affairs, and was loved by all his students. Earl taught me the importance of relationships, education and networking. When Earl passed away from a long battle with cancer mid-way through my sophomore year, it was hard for me to step foot in the LBJ student center, and especially into the SACA office. His passing was the hardest thing I have had to overcome as a student leader. After much deliberation I decided that the best way to honor his legacy was to be the best SACA coordinator, student leader, friend and mentor that I could be. Even though it was hard, I am blessed with the privilege to have had him in my life even if it was for such a short time.

As student leaders we all go through times of hardship, whether it’s losing a beloved advisor, not getting a position that we wanted, or handling conflict it is important to find ways to overcome those challenges to thrive as a student leaders and be successful at Texas State. Now that I am a senior at Texas State and graduation is coming soon I cannot help but think of all the ways that leadership has made me resilient, strong-willed and dedicated. Go Bobcats!

College will be over before you know it, so living in the here and now is important. Never let your dreams be deterred by any obstacle that may fall into your path. There won’t always be a plan for how to handle it, no answers to the questions that are most difficult when you come across them. But leadership and involvement helps you overcome any battle, not only because it helps you to be more prepared to handle the fight, but because there will always be those who will stand by you and help. 

Leave a comment